Basic Fudge Pie

This is my favorite pie, I make it so much that the cookbook it’s from falls open to the page when I open it and the page is all covered in smears of chocolate.  Oh well, I guess that’s how you know a recipe in a book is delicious!  The reason I love this recipe is it’s really easy, and you can make it with or with out a pie crust.  I make mine with a crust, since I think the crust is the best part of a pie.  It comes from a recipe book my mom gave me called Crieve Hall Cooks by the ladies of Crieve Hall Church of Christ.  You can find the recipe there if you happen to have the same cookbook lying around.  I hope you enjoy the pie as much as I do.

Basic Fudge Pie

image
by Sue Darby

Ingredients
2 eggs, beaten
Dash of salt
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup cocoa
1 pie crust, optional

Instructions
Mix together the first five ingredients. Melt butter with 1/4 cup of cocoa; add other ingredients and mix well. Cook with or without crust. With crust, bake at 325 for 30 minutes. Without crust, bake at 350 for 15 to 20 minutes.

*Remember oven times vary! Check to make sure your pie is done by sticking a fork in the pie and looking to see if it comes out without the pie filling sticking to it. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

