Basic Vegetables

At my house I often just throw some green beans or carrots in a pot and season them for dinner.  I wanted to share my easy and fast way to make seasoned vegetables.  I hope you enjoy it!

Basic All Vegetable Seasoning

Serves: 4        Cook Time: 15 to 20 minutes

Ingredients

2 cups fresh or frozen vegetables (green beans and baby carrots are our favorites)

3 cups water (needs to cover the vegetables an inch or more)

Beef bouillon cubes (need 1 cube for every cup of water; example 3 cubes for 3 cups of water)

1 Tablespoon of butter

Salt and Pepper to taste (bouillon cubes have lots of salt so make sure to taste before salting)

Instructions:

Place vegetables in a medium pot. Cover the vegetables with water until they are an inch underwater.  Add bouillon, butter and pepper.  Place the pot over medium to medium high heat until it boils.  Let boil 5 minutes and then turn the heat down to low and cook for 10 to 15 minutes.  You don’t want the veggies to be soggy so keep and eye on them and don’t let them boil to long or over cook.

Tips:

I use baby carrots so I don’t have to chop the carrots up.  By the time the 15 to 20 minutes are up the carrots are nice and tender.

I have used this recipe to season rice too.  I just follow the quick cook rice cooking directions and add the same seasoning.

Leave a Reply

