Crockpot Pot Roast

Pot roast is one of my favorite meals.  Here is my favorite recipe for it. Enjoy!

DSC_8425

Here are the ingredients for the pot roast.  My roast is a 2.9 lb chuck roast.  There are also baby carrots, potatoes, and seasonings.

Veggies in the Pot

I washed my potatoes and cut them up without peeling them.  Then washed baby carrots and placed them on top of the potatoes.  Next I placed the roast on top of the vegetables.  I usually have mushrooms in the crockpot too, but I didn’t have any today.

Roast

Roast in the pot!

Seasoned roast

Finally I dumped the packets of seasonings onto the roast.  I used dry mixes of ranch dressing/dip, Italian dressing, and brown gravy mix.  Then I put a 1/2 cup to 1 cup of water on top and turned the heat on to high. The best part about crockpots is you just walk away!

Finished in Crockpot

Final product!

Bowl of Roast

Here is the recipe.

Crockpot Pot Roast

Ingredients:

Roast (whatever size roast feeds your family and fits in your crockpot; the bigger the roast the longer the cooking time)

1 package dry Italian dressing mix

1 package Ranch dressing mix

1 package brown gravy mix

1/2 to 1 cup water (you need to cover the bottom of your crockpot)

4 to 5 potatoes

1/2 bag of baby carrots

1 package fresh button mushrooms (optional)

1 medium white onion (optional)

*Use whatever vegetables you have on hand and you think would taste great with pot roast.

Instructions:

Wash and cut up vegetables and place in the bottom of the crockpot.  Next, place your roast on top of the vegetables.  Finally, mix up your dry mixes (Italian, Ranch, Gravy) and water and pour it on top of the roast  (I usually just dump everything in and flip my roast near the end of the cooking process to keep the dry powder from remaining on top).  Turn your crockpot on high and let cook 4-6 hours (I used a 3 lb. roast and it took about 4 hours).

Tip:

You can brown the roast before hand if you want to lock in more flavor.  If you choose to do this salt and pepper your meat and brown it in a pan with a little oil.  Then just place it on top of the vegetables as usual.

Leave a Reply

