Chicken Divan

My best friend’s mom used to make Chicken Divan and I thought it was delicious.  So, when I got to college I decided to look for a recipe and make it for some friends.  The result was delicious.  So much so that one of my friends I made it for recently asked me if I could put the recipe up for you guys to use.  Here is the recipe from my beloved Betty Crocker.

Chicken Divan

Betty Crockers PhotoPhoto from bettycrocker.com

 

Casserole Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons chicken bouillon granules (or bouillon cubes or chicken stock)

2 cups milk

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 tablespoon Dijon Mustard

2 boxes (9 oz. each) of frozen broccoli spears, thawed and drained  (I use fresh broccoli and just steam it a few minutes before I use it)

3 cups cubed cooked chicken (or turkey)

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Topping Ingredients

1/3 cup plain bread crumbs (I use stale or day old bread because I usually have some lying around)

1 tablespoon butter, melted

Directions

1.    Heat oven to 350F. In a 2-quart saucepan, melt 2 tablespoons butter over medium heat.  Stir in flour and bouillon.  Gradually stir in milk, cooking and stirring constantly with wire whisk, until mixture boils and thickens. Stir in mayonnaise and mustard until well blended.

2.    In ungreased 12×8 inch (2-quart) glass baking dish, arrange broccoli spears. Top with chicken.  Spoon sauce over chicken.  Sprinkle with cheese.

3.    In a small bowl, mix topping ingredients; sprinkle over top of casserole. Bake about 30 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

Makes 6 servings.

Here is a link to the Betty Crocker’s original recipe.

 

One thought on “Chicken Divan

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this site with
    my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

