Pasta Salad

Let me start off by saying I am NOT a fan of pasta salad.  So, when my friend made this recipe for me I was nice and decided to try it.  I was shocked when not only did I like it, I loved it!  I make it and stick it in the fridge for lunch about once a month and it’s the only pasta salad I eat.  I hope you will like this recipe as well and give it a shot even if you don’t fancy pasta salad.  The ingredients in the salad are fresh and acidic.  If you don’t like cucumber, replace them with tomatoes, or leave out olives if you don’t like those, which is what I do. Make the salad something you will eat and enjoy!

Greek Pasta Salad

DSC_8571Ingredients

1/2 cup Greek salad dressing (recipe below)

1/3 cup finely chopped onion

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

6 ounces Tri-colored rotini pasta (or another pasta you have), cooked and rinsed with cold water

1/2 cup pitted olives, halved (or you can used canned sliced olives rinsed and drained)

1 cup chopped cucumber (or tomato or both; I use tomato)

1/2 cup crumbled feta

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

Dressing Ingredients

1/4 cup olive oil or vegetable oil

1/8 cup lemon juice

1/8 cup vinegar

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano leaves

1 clove garlic, finely chopped or 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Directions

To make dressing mix together all ingredients and stir until blended.

In a large bowl stir together dressing and all other ingredients except pasta and cheese.  Once mixed, add pasta and stir again. Then add cheese and stir again.  Cover and chill for 1 hour.  Enjoy!

Makes 4-6 servings.

Leave a Reply

