Creamy Potato Soup

I have made potato soup a lot in my life time, but recently I have discovered my favorite way to make it. Sometimes my potato soup would turn out bland, mostly because I was just throwing whatever I had on hand in it, but this recipe is delicious with great flavor! I am so excited to share my soup recipe with you. Enjoy!

Creamy Potato Soup

image

Ingredients:

1/2 medium onion

1 1/2 cups of carrots

1 stalk of celery

2 cloves of garlic

5-7 potatoes

8 cups of chicken stock

2 Tablespoons of butter

1 cup of milk

3 Tablespoons of all-purpose flour

Salt and Pepper to taste (I used about 1 1/2 tsp. of salt and a couple grinds of black pepper)

1/2 Tablespoon dried parsley

a couple handfuls of your favorite cheese

Cajun seasoning (optional)

Directions:

Melt butter in large pot or Dutch oven on medium heat. While it’s melting dice up your onion and then toss it in. Next mince the cloves of garlic or use a garlic press and add that to the pot (Do not brown your garlic and onions too much. You might want to turn the heat down while you’re chopping the carrots and celery to make sure it doesn’t over cook).  Next dice your carrots, celery, and potatoes and add those to the pot. Then add your stock, Cajun seasoning, salt and pepper.

image

Turn the heat to medium-high and let simmer until the potatoes are almost tender, about ten minutes. When the potatoes are about tender measure 1 cup of milk and add the flour to the measuring cup. Mix together with a whisk and add to the pot. Cook another five minutes. The next step is optional you could go ahead and eat the soup, but I prefer my soup to be a little more creamy. You can take out 1/3 to 2/3 of the veggies in the soup and set them aside. I use my immersion blender to cream/purée the soup left in the pot and then add the veggies I took out back. You could also purée it in a blender. Please be very careful when blending hot liquids, as they can be…well…hot! After you have everything back together add the parsley and handfuls of cheese to the pot and give it a good stir. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

