Grannie Tritschler’s Apple Pie

I do not like fruit pie. However, the first time I went to my husband’s grandmother’s for Christmas Eve I tried a piece of their apple pie. I was in heaven! I really enjoy apples, but not usually cooked apples, mostly because of all the cinnamon that usually accompany it. This pie is delicious and not overly cinnamonned (pretty sure that’s not a word). You can adjust the cinnamon to your taste if you go for a more cinnamony flavor. What I like about this apple pie is the fact you can taste the wonderful apple flavor without it being overwhelmed by other flavors. I hope you enjoys our family’s version of apple pie.

Grannie Tritschler’s Apple Pie

image

INGREDIENTS

1 frozen deep dish pie crust (I am sure Grannie made her own pie crust, but frozen works too).

4 or 5 apples depending on size of apples. I like Jonathan or Grannie Smith apples the best for pies, but sometimes I just use whatever I have on hand

TOPPING

3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon

  1. Wash and peel apples, then slice into crust.
  2. Sprinkle a little sugar and cinnamon on top. Take a tablespoon of butter and cut into little pieces and scatter that on top also.image
  3. In a small bowl, mix together topping ingredients. You can add a little more or less of cinnamon. I just sprinkle it in, so am not sure of exact measurements.
  4. Cut in 1 stick of butter or margarine until crumbly. You can do this with 2 knives or a pastry cutter.image
  5. Put strudel topping on top of pie.image
  6. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until brown.

Excellent with ice cream on top! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

