Black Forest Cake

When my sister-in-law got engaged to a man from New Zealand, and they decided they would live in America. I thought it would be a nice idea to make them a family recipe book with recipes from both sides of their new family. This way if he was every missing home or a familiar meal she could whip it up and make him feel at home, or vice versa. It was fun corresponding with people I’d never met, let alone people a country half way around the world from me. I got to talk to moms, dads, aunts, uncles, siblings and grandparents! One of the recipes my new Kiwi friends sent me was this Black Forest cake. The Black Forest is in Germany and my husband’s family, as well as, my brother-in-laws family, have roots in Germany. Tonight I decided to try out this recipe I had heard rave reviews about. Tomorrow is my dad’s birthday so I’ll let you know how we like, but I am sure it will be delicious! I hope you enjoy it too!

Black Forest Cake 

ppecamera

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
3 eggs
1/2 cup almonds, finely chopped in blender
1 (6 oz.) package, semi-sweet chocolate pieces, chopped fine
1 tsp. vanilla
3/4 cup sifted flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup heavy cream
2 tbsp. honey
1/2 cup Kirschwasser or 1/2 cup cherry brandy
2 (1 lb.) cans sour pitted well-drained maraschino cherries

Directions

Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy; add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in almonds,  3/4 cup of the chopped chocolate, and vanilla. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Stir into butter mixture.

 

Divide evenly between three greased, waxed-paper-lined and re-greased 8 layer cake pans. They will be very thin layers!

Bake in a moderately hot oven (375) about 20 mins, or until edges start to pull away from sides of pan.

Turn out; remove waxed paper, and coil cake layers on cake rack.

In the mean time, whip cream with honey until stiff.

Place one cake layer on serving plate; sprinkle with one-third of the liquor; spread with one-third of the whipped cream; cover evenly with one-half of the sour cherries. Place second layer on top, pressing down slightly. Repeat as for first layer. Top with third layer, press down slightly, sprinkle with liquor, cover with whipped cream.

Decorate top and sides with reserved 1/4 cup chopped chocolate and Maraschino cherries. Chill well before serving.

Leave a Reply

